do you have the time?

It’s true, the best gift you can give someone is your time. everyone of us has only 24 hours a day, and if someone gives me his or her undivided attention, well….it shows that i am worth something to him or her. as a friend or whatever. as a human at the very least.

i had planned to go home on time today so that i could grab a pizza on the way home. but i remembered that a colleague had asked me casually during lunch time if we could have a chat sometime today. i knew it would be something personal when he started by saying please don’t judge me. i jokingly said too late. har har but soon after that a group of loud cik kiahs poured into the pantry before i could get another word out of the confessor.

so after work i took a longer time than i really needed to pack my stuff so he could pour his heart out. i gave him my undivided attention for 10 mins to listen to something that has been bugging him for 4 days. he thanked me for listening and that’s it. 

this is why I was mad at someone last night. you know how something happened and you are not sure why you are walking away with a crummy feeling inside. this is how I felt last night when someone just abruptly ended our conversation to watch something on tv! there will be more games but that moment had passed. fail! 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

