something something

Gazillion years ago, I shared a room with a girl who was dating a half greek and half american guy. i still remember his name and his piercing dark eyes. I don’t recall having any conversation with him because each time I return from my class or work, both of them would leave the room. I played my roommate part well, no questions asked. no details offered in response. but what i do remember is the phrase ‘that thing’ that always pop out when they talked over the phone. of course i was hearing from only one side, so I had no idea what was the subject. I did have my guess which I kept to myself. that thing? it could be sex, bagel, coffee, underwear or whatever right? we were adults and yet she could not say it.

to be honest i am still trying to figure out why on earth am i writing about this. communicating what you have in mind is an important skill to have isn’t it? whether this ties to the story is lost on me but anyway. my point is ladies and gentlemen (and neanderthals) please have the courage and courtesy to tell someone what is on your mind using words that really represent your point/feelings/what the heck you want. asking a million pointless questions and beating around the bush is so juvenile. using vague words is such a turn off. you’ve got this. just say it. 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

