disliking 

hate is such a strong word. hence, i prefer to use dislike or ‘kurenggg’ when expressing my feelings toward certain individuals. disliking people is a tricky thing. i heard someone from the office saying something like this ” kau cakap kau tak suka dia, kau ingat dia suka kau ke?” to which the other person replied “aku tak kisah sebab aku tak suka dia!” they were sitting within an earshot, so there was no need to pretend like I didn’t hear them. I didn’t menyampuk but it did get me thinking… 

when we dislike (or hate if you do) anyone, our attitude or perception towards that person is naturally not pleasant. we become calculative and probably defensive. so her/him being ‘not likeable’ by our standard has changed our behavior (and not in a good way). i am sure this is how it is for me and most people. we forget that we don’t live in a bubble. there are other people in the surrounding whom we interact with at the same time. is it possible to be a pleasant and kind person to one person, and be the total opposite to another in the same room? i have seen this and probably have done this myself. but now i am consciously trying to not let people whom i dislike (or i suspect do not like me) influence my actions and attitude. life is easier that way. i read somewhere that being civil to people we don’t like is not hypocrisy, it’s a sign of maturity. 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

