action and consequences

today i gave my sons a lesson on action-and-consequences in the car on the way to their school. i didn’t plan it, nor did i plan to drive them there. how we ended in the car together this morning is the essence of this post.

my life is not a great love story. there is no drama and it is pretty darn boring to be honest. to a certain extent, i think it’s good for the kids. we have a system that works despite not having a hired help. let me try to come closer to the main point.

my point is, when one wants to be part of this lean structure, he or she has to be reliable. your action (or lack of) affects/screws other people. so when the seasonal/recreational father figure wants to be part of this daily routine but backs out due to an avoidable event it basically led us to where we are i.e. disappointed kids and potentially late for school, unfed cats, untouched coffee, messy kitchen etc etc.

i was not mad or livid or anything. i was just annoyed at being not surprised. a man can be born smart but his temper can drag him to the pits of stupidity and probably other shitty places I’m sure.

I have said this before and i will say it again. I am too old for this shit.

At times like this I am liking my drama-free, predictable, boring life. 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

