worlds apart

Lately I have been watching many videos on the shrinking middle class in the US, how so many people who were considered well off before are now on welfare and surviving on food stamps, how families survive on minimum wage and some without a home. Saw some videos on equally struggling families in other countries as well. it brings me to the conclusion and i am lucky to have a job that pays enough for a roof over my head, food on the table, fuel to keep the car running and occasional treats for the kids. We don’t buy new clothes just because they are on sale or they look cute and we don’t eat out just because we feel like it. Bottomline, my target is to always have money when it’s needed. not when it’s wanted because we always want something. but part of growing up is to know that one doesn’t always get what one wants. i am sure by now my children are well aware of this! they are not deprived of food or anything, but the value of every ringgit means so much more to them now. that I am proud of. if they also realize that love doesn’t translate to money and things, then I am even prouder. 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

