away from home

I spent two weeks away from home for work. where i was is probably not on your list of dream holidays. in fact, someone told me yesterday that it is one of the countries that she does not want to go. i kept my straight face, but inside i cringed a little. let me tell you why. it is about perspective. if you are standing on a box peering down at people, they appear smaller that they actually are. but you are missing the details.

While i was there, my fellow citizen of this country is the one who annoyed the heck out of me. in fact, i don’t care which country you come from, you annoy me if your favorite subject is money. imagine being in a place where many people are sleeping in tents, when the nights are so cold that I slept without the fan or the AC turned on; and you keep hearing question after question and insensitive remarks about…. money. regardless of what you see or hear about them, these people amaze me every time i come here (this would need a dedicated post). 

I was wishing that i could send him home on the next flight home just so I could enjoy my plate of lamb briyani in peace (and silence).

and I did 8 days later.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “away from home”

Leave a Reply

