Taking a time out

You know the expression ‘when it rains, it pours’? I have been working too much, sleep deprived, tired…but  motivated and quite frankly excited to be done with the current project. But in order to be done I have to go on that  5hr-flight, face the client and present the work (and defend it). Nothing special in that itself, but the person who will come along this time is. When I jumped into this line of work years ago, I had to rely on my own instinct and do my own research. I had no mentor. So although I am happy doing what I am, I’ve always have had this thought at the back of my mind that I should probably go somewhere else where there will be someone experienced and respectable for me to work with. But I stayed anyway. This time I have had the opportunity to work alongside someone really experienced and old enough to refer to me as a ‘young’ person. Hahaha it is nice to see your work being reviewed and commented by someone of that stature and it is nicer to exchange opinions and judgments with him. In a tiny way, I feel validated in a  teeny weeny way. At least he didn’t throw my work in the bin and start fresh!

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

