All in a day’s work

A drama started in the office yesterday. Mind you, I only see (hear) one side of the story, as it transpired over the phone. There was plenty of whining and yelling; it ended with some crying. I had my ears stuffed with the earphones as I was listening to child genius season 1 on YouTube while working (learning geography and earth science from overeducated 10 year olds). So I actually did not notice all the commotion at first. All i heard later was a lot of screaming at the window followed by sobbing. Immediately I know who it was. 3 years ago, I was shocked that such scene took place at a workplace and noone said anything. I used to even get mad at him. But now although I still feel helpless whenever these meltdowns occur, I understand now why noone says anything or does anything. You can’t say anything because it will make the guy feel even worse. His cries will be louder and he will scream at you while explaining why he is upset even though you already know based on his earlier, very audible rants. I am not sure if it is autism or asperger, but he has extreme idiosyncrasies that we collectively have embraced even though we would cringe and grit our teeth each time he is mad at the world, the government, his mother, clash of clan, etc.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

