Revisit

I took the day off yesterday to take care of an unfinished business with my previous employer. It has been over 5 years since i left that place to study full time. That place has always looked and felt gloomy to me. Dark paneled walls with yellow lighting in the lobby should be a sign of the impending doom that awaits who comes for a job interview!
I spent maybe 10 minutes there in total, including the time spent on the elevator. Time taken to sign documents: 1 min. Time taken to drive there: 45 mins. Time to pay every cent I owe the company: 28 months.

Although it did seem depressing at first, I feel a tiny bit free-r in the head now, knowing that I will be free. I know that when I decided to leave, there will be consequences but I did not have the luxury to linger and ponder. An opportunity came and I took it – not for more money but for some peace and anonymity.
Now that things have kind of fell in their places, it is high time that I close that final door that was left open. I am praying that the next 28 months go smoothly albeit with less life’s simple luxuries.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

