Which planet are you from?

Today for lunch we went to one of our regular lunch places. food was good and it came with bottomless teh bunga (drink of the day) and a simple jelly for dessert…even that feels a bit indulgent sometimes considering there is a good nasi kukus in front of the office for approximately half of the price we paid today (but no drink and jelly..so less points for kedai nasi kukus)

Anyhoo…i made a remark to my buddies that there are times when i feel like a bunch of my friends/ppl i stalk on the Internet are living on a different planet. I mean when it comes to money and all. Nevermind that my window to their lives is the fb! Hehe i know, i know, it can be superficial.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining. I am just stating my observation that there are people in this country that are not significantly affected by the current economy, GST, service charge, lower oil price, etc. They earn a lot, pay high tax and yet still have a good amount of disposable income. On the other hand, there are people that I know whose contracts are terminated or not renewed. Think about it, these are people who used to earn maybe 20-40k per month. I can imagine the struggle of servicing loans, putting food on the table, keeping up appearances, etc. I feel sorry for them really. But i do want to say welcome to the other planet, it really ain’t that bad.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

