Raya Chronicle (continued)

You know what I started to see now? Raya means differently to us as we age. When I was little, it was about duit raya, baju/kasut raya and kuih raya. Every Ramadhan, I had to painstakingly shape and drop balls of pineapple jam into their places on raw doughy circles. Upah dapat duit raya.

Now, I can see that Raya is more than that. It is a time to give, be it duit raya, kuih raya, your energy, time and attention. It is time to hold your tongue, be forgiving and exercise patience. It is time when families get together so naturally things tend to go awry a bit. So raya means to let go a little, tebalkan telinga and layan ajelah cerita yang you dah dengar 50 kali because someone is happy telling that story. Or cheerily wash plates and cups 100 times/day and sweep the kitchen floor 20 times/day without complaining because it meant you have a big family and you had enough food to share with them.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

