Why do we bother?

I think the last time i actually looked forward to raya was eons ago cos honestly i can’t  even recall the exact year or moment.

Is it because I have lived long enough to accumulate enough  sins to finally fear judgment day? Or is it because i feel somewhat ‘off’ every time a merry occasion like this take place? I am not sure. It could be both, but i wish it is the former. People say move on. Forgive and forget. The power of forgiving…they talk about gaining control over your life. But you think you know but you don’t  know how. Hard. It. Really. Is.

I have grown accustomed  to the reality that sometimes  my children  will be absent on important  days like hari raya. Well there are moments when i feel gutted at the thought of it and console myself by saying mm..whateverlah. so to not feel too much is not to expect much. Instead, I look forward to the night of miracles and wish that my prayers will come true. If not all, at least a tiny fraction because a fraction of a lot is quite significant.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

