adapting

never underestimate your children when it comes to adapting. I don’t have tons of data to support this of course, other than what I saw in my home, with my children.

age probably has to do with how they are now, but sometimes when I think about the enormity of change that they went through, I cannot help but feel….relieved.

relief comes from knowing that they turn out well inspite of …well everything.

my boys are only 11 & 12 but last night while they were away I checked their room and found the toilet to be clean! nothing moldy under the bed and nothing but pillows on the bed. these are two urban kids who were born with a rather nice spoon in their mouths. well really silver la kan but well compared to my childhood….now they have no maid to pick up their slack and a rather freaky mom who is always saying the same things over and over again. “pick up the baju kotor!” ” pick up the hanger! ” ” flush!”  “make your bed” “turn off the AC”

well today I sat back and watched sherlock in peace knowing that at least I have one less toilet to clean!

and that, is one of the things that made me happy today. 

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “adapting”

Leave a Reply

