Missing

I do not remember how it happened but I do remember the year it happened.  It was 1989 and I was my younger self – friendly, cheerful and kind of naive. I have made friends with some girls from my dorm and class by then but I didn’t really have a best friend…until I started talking to her. We were living in the same dorm but she is from a different part of the country where people speak differently and her bed was located quite far from mine. Now, 25-26 years later I remember that she was into new kids on the block and she showed me a piece of paper that she had put up in her locker – lyrics to one of nkotb songs. We became fast friends. We were classmates but she was always ahead of me… well ahead of everyone else actually.

Do you know the feeling of missing someone so much out of nowhere,  when you haven’t thought of them for a long time? I cannot recall the last time we met but I remember certain things clearly and it makes me miss her, my “bosom buddy” (our private joke)

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

