Yada yada yada

Realizing that most of my posts are downright depressing, I am thinking whether I should write on lighter subject matters in the future?

Well when I first started here I was going thru a very tough time. Writing was my shrink. Now I don’t think it is healthy to wallow in self pity and continue to let what happened define my life. Like Jennifer Love Hewitt said “what he did said everything about him and nothing about me”.

Nevertheless,  you will see this subject popping up once in a while because you can’t expect me to get over it so fast, right? More importantly I hope that someone else, somewhere, will read this blog and know that she is not alone and it is not the end of the world.  Bad and failed marriages are not advertised or ‘shared’ on social media (unless you are a celebrity or someone famous).

Ok. on to other things.

Let me be honest. I am downright sick and tired of listening to lectures on suami isteri stuff on tv. Day in day out that is all being fed to us.  Same old same old. Buat ni utk suami buat ni utk isteri. Yada yada yada

Let’s focus on what needs to be worked on to be good human being because that is essentially a subset of being a Muslim. We focus so much on doing but not on being.  Yes we need to cultivate good habits by doing certain rituals starting from when we are young. But when we are adults, those good habits should not just remain as habits. They should be extensions of ourselves. In other words I think it should not be that I am Muslim because I do this and this. But instead it should be I do this and this because I am Muslim. I am probably confusing you but what I find most disappointing is the lack of consistency – why are we disrespecting other beliefs, races, species and nationalities. Do we think we are better because of our faith? On the assumption that we are because we are the enlightened ones, how many of us are truly where we should be? Are we a delusional lot?

Having said that I think I have a lot to work on!

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

