Better than before

Ramadhan is here again! Things in this house are progressing well, Alhamdulillah. I mean, as far as I can tell and see. Boys are fasting with minimum hassle, drama and whining.  Everyone seems to be adapting smoothly to the new routine of sahur, school/work, buka, terawih, sleep, sahur, school/work, buka……

You know the popular quote “God will replace what you lost with something better”….I think if I look at my life now it is sadly better. I used the word sadly because to me, any divorce is sad regardless of how amicable or ugly it may be. It is an end to something that is meant or intended to be…good. nevertheless, I think ‘better’ in this context is calmness and the lack of worry and despair. Instead of crying because of my disappointment in someone else,  I now cry because I am disappointed in myself.  How is that better? Crying for things that are within your control is much better than the opposite.  You cry, then you resolve. You don’t just worry endlessly.  So yes, things are generally better at this time of the year than it was previously.   Selamat berpuasa!

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

