Life as we know it

With the kids out last night to my no-longer significant other (ouch), I spent the evening with my folks eating in Subang Parade. It was a leisurely trip – no expectation other than to eat dinner. Everything was fine until we reached our housing area. Something (OK, many things) my dad said triggered a familiar emotion in me. It was the way he said it and probably where he said it. Enduring a verbal tirade about the security guard’s overzealous (or their lack of it) seems to really rile up some people. I  tuned out but could help listening to my dad’s tirade and my mom’s response. She reminds me of me. He reminds me of him.

My life now is not sickly sweet like the life of others who bake cute cupcakes, go on family ‘vacays’ and post happy photos on the FB for all to gush and comment.

My life is neither very dramatic like the life of others who are in love with someone’s husband (ouch), nor someone who is in a love-less marriage and only gets to rant on her blog about it (Kesian).

My life is just peaceful (can’t think of a more intelligent word really). It is ‘nice’ (another no-brainer word) to live everyday without having to listen to repetitive and incessant complaints about life, people, situations that neither of us can change or are doing anything to change. I’d love to think that I am a good listener, but I think over the years (decades) my capacity to listen has either dwindled or maybe I just developed the knack of detecting bs or pointless arguments when I hear them. Listening, my friend, is a two-way thing. When it is one way, it gets tiring and pretty much boring (for the lack of a more bombastic adjective).

In summary, my life is not great (what do you expect) but not crappy either. It is in equilibrium right now and I’d like to keep it that way.

P/S: I should really  read and write more

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

