Living large

Saw on my facebook wall today a story about 2 guys of indian descent (who grew up in USA) carrying out an interesting experiment by living like an average indian (in India).  In short, basically an average indian has so little money he or she can only afford basic food stuff. Reading that brought back memories….of our maid when we stayed in a place near mumbai in 2003. And yes, i believe what i read today. Because i remember small poignant details like:
1. She asked me if she could take home the bits and pieces of chicken fat that i cut from raw chicken,
2. She took home watermelon rinds that i cut because she said there were still edible parts on them,
3. She was so happy each time i ask her to make a pot of chai and said make enough for both of us
4. She is Hindu and is a vegetarian, but ate what i cook which is not vegetarian as it is still free food
5. She was delighted when i let her take as many used plastic bags as she wanted (OK so this one is not about food)
6. Her family thanked me for a chocolate cake i let her take home
My point is, little things to us like chicken fat, kulit tembikai, teh susu, leftover cake…these things are valuable to them. One day she brought me some eggless cake because it was her bday. And i felt bad taking it but it was a thoughtful gesture.  Coming from someone who has so little…

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

