Amanah

I saw him riding his bike from afar and could sense his relief; friends at last! So as we unloaded our things from the car, he approached us and asked if he could come in.

Minutes later, i heard a small voice behind me. “May i open this door?” He pointed to the cabinet, where he knows by now, we keep a variety of food items.  In our home, we know what that means. There is an unspoken speculation in our home that he is perpetually hungry.

I know that we’ve come a long way. A year ago, he would just help himself to our food and i don’t mean food served on the table but food kept behind cabinet doors.

We realized that he is different. I am not sure if it is him, his parents, his manners or his idiosyncracies. But at the moment, i am glad to see that my sons are friends with him, despite knowing that he is not like most of their friends and despite him coming to our house in the morning wearing the same clothes he wore the day before and admitting that he didn’t shower the previous night. We did not say anything in response, but later when it was only the two of us in a car, my mom could no longer hold her thoughts; “anak itu amanah dari Allah. Rugi kita tak jaga baik2”. I concurred in silence.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

TagsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

