False Encouragement

I’ve been listening to Snow Patrol a lot. Certain songs are just easy on the ears; you don’t have to try to understand the lyrics. Just listen and you will be transported elsewhere. One of the songs is called ‘Run’. I was wondering what it was about – of course I turned to my ol-trusted Google and found the lyrics and an excellent interpretation by someone who wants to be known as ‘lovemhycangel’.

The lyrics by Songmeanings.net

I’ll sing it one last time for you
Then we really have to go
You’ve been the only thing that’s right
In all I’ve done.

And I can barely look at you
But every single time I do
I know we’ll make it anywhere
Away from here

[Chorus]
Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I’ll be right beside you dear
Louder, louder
And we’ll run for our lives
I can hardly speak I understand
Why you can’t raise your voice to say

To think I might not see those eyes
It makes it so hard not to cry
And as we say our long goodbyes
I nearly do.

[Chorus]

Slower, slower
We don’t have time for that
All I want is to find an easier way
To get out of our little heads

Have heart my dear
We’re bound to be afraid
Even if it’s just for a few days
Making up for all this mess.

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I’ll be right beside you dear

Now the interpretation that I particularly find amazing (wishing I was as deep as that?)
“Run for me is a parting song, it spoke of leaving a person, that no matter how much you wanted to be together, it has to end, but despite of all the decisions that lead to mistakes, perhaps the one reason you did not regret was simply being able to “connect” with the person whom had understood what it’s like when you have the freedom to express what you feel with no thought or opinion of the rest. But then it has to end so you were like reassuring the person that both of you could go on with your lives separately no matter what happens and wherever place destiny may take you.
“Light up, light up as if you have a choice”, this line is the highlight of the song, a message to a person to be okay, and not to be affected as with the events that occur; probably the need of having to say goodbye, and the pain coupled with it. It’s all about escaping the harsh reality of losing someone and the speaker was entering into a state of hopeless encouragement by telling the other person to light up. However, amidst of self delusion, she is aware of the unavoidable fate that lies beneath, as seen from the phrases “as if you have a choice”. Though simple it might be, the impact was still big on them and they have to deal with it. I do think that leaving someone behind is painful, and losing someone is much painful, and sometimes all we do is to “run” and flee from the hopeless situation by deluding ourselves with false encouragement.”
 
How apt, how true, how befitting. False encouragement. This post will be filed under History, obviously.
Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Tags3 Comments

3 thoughts on “False Encouragement”

Leave a Reply

