BS and AS

When i was pregnant for the first time, i read a book called babyville. That book is about parenthood; about a couple who defined their life as BG and AG. G stands for George, their baby boy. So BG is Before George and AG is After George. Funny stuff aside, life does change with children. Even with one child. Similarly (but sadly) life also morphes with the departure of 1 (or worse: both) parent. The dynamics of the family shifted. So with one full time and one part time parent, our kids have had to adjust their expectations. I pity them, but shit happens. I feel strangely detached from what was before; kids included. My love for them is unconditional. No question about that but i am now learning to be a dad-mom 6 days a week on top of being a mom 7 days of the week. They might eventually think that i am no fun and daddy is all fun fun fun. Mommy is about bedtime, homework and rules. Daddy now means nice lunches, toys, gadgets and video games.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Tags2 Comments

2 thoughts on “BS and AS”

  1. no worries about that. we tend to stick to people who pay attention to us more. that does include the one who asks if we’ve done homework, make us clean our rooms and all the not so fun stuffs.

    the more interactivity, the stickier it gets. so for the out of home, dad… they’d be asking but they’re hooked to the mom usually.

Leave a Reply

