A new year, a new me…?

Happy New Year! If you know me well, you would know that I rarely do celebrate new year(s). I normally either fall asleep before 12 midnight, or forget that midnight came and went while I do something mundane like watch tv or read a book. So this year the latter happened. Big deal! 2012 was tumultuous to say the least.

So if you know me very well, you would also know that I do not make new year resolutions. I make resolutions every.single.day! I have been reading motivational stuff a lot lately and you know what? those motivational mumbo jumbo actually makes sense when you are in a shitty rut such as the one I am/was in.

If there was a remote possibility that somebody stumbling upon this blog is facing infidelity, a broken marriage, a bitter divorce or just a ‘normal’ hard-times with douche-bags, then I hope she would try any of these :

– Read the Quran and the meaning. Pick random Surah and understand the meaning. You will find peace in knowing that there are more important things in life that you should strive for (other than stopping your man from leaving when he wants to and nothing you say can stop him). you will find verses that you can relate to. The book is beautiful and deep. Read it.

– Read a funny book. Laugh out loud.

– Watch the big bang theory back to back. If possible, download the whole season 1-5 and watch continuously. laugh your heart out. It’s perfectly normal to wish that you have friends like Sheldon Cooper and his mates. I was close.

– Go to the gym. You will benefit from the endorphins, shed some weight, tone some muscles and perhaps meet fit guys (this part is imaginary; hasn’t happened to me. but could happen to you)

– Do what you love

– Buy what you want

– Eat what you like

2012 was a nightmare for me, but I am ready for 2013. Going to court on 19th February, which is 47 days away. I don’t know if there will be a breakthrough during the counseling session, but I do know that I already made a few just by sitting here typing this post today.

Have a good day!

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

