Reading Material

I haven’t been writing simply because I’ve been too busy reading. Reading what exactly? An assortment of quality and touching summary of opinions on mundane things (my favorite being matters of the heart, of course) as well as stuff we can categorize as trashy journal-ish stuff most people put on their blogs. It is unfathomable why I spend hours devouring on the latter. It is not that different from reading someone’s diary, except these people want strangers to read their ‘diaries’. In fact, I think the more followers they have, the bolder the entries become. Speaking of bold, I find it disturbing that people of my faith openly discuss their transgressions. Amazingly, they don’t even bother to hide their ethnicity or religion. So people like me, are left wondering, should I feel OK with this? Am I the one who is strange for being disgusted and disturbed? Being where I am today, of course I condemn those publicly flaunt their affairs with married men and denounce their flawed reasoning for doing so. As for drinking, I think I am entitled feel disgusted, am I not? But the internet being a free space for all, all one can do is comment without sounding so righteous about it. To not say anything is equivalent to condoning it. If you see something that is wrong yet you don’t do or say anything against it, you are saying (in one way or another) that this is acceptable. The internet, for all its good and beauty, also unleashes the ugly truths about people who could at this very moment be sitting next to you, updating their blog on their ipad.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

