The book you must understand before you die

If you have been reading my postings it is obvious that my life is nothing but serene lately. Don’t get me wrong, I do feel at peace when I am reading the Quran. When I read the translations, light bulbs light up every 2 seconds. This must be the reason why Quran makes so much sense to those who try to understand it. But for us who were born having to read it without understanding it, those of us who have it because we just do instead of having it because we actually went to the store to buy it because we wanted to know the contents, we can, beyond the shadow of a doubt, categorize ourselves as ‘orang-orang yang rugi” or in plain adolescent english : “the losers”. We are Muslim but we don’t enjoy from being one. We are Muslim but we hardly know why Islam is special.

I know that life is so much more than being happily married to the one you love or loved. It is so much more than being happy. I never subscribe to the popular notion of ‘do whatever that makes you happy’ simply because i imagine my children being a bunch of hedonistic people who literally do things to make them ‘happy’. well the oldest one is just 9. so happiness to him now just means being able to play minecraft continuously without having to sleep or break for prayers and just survive on mcdonald’s. i do get why so many people live by this notion, though. but for me it’s always do what is right. if it is right, it will make me happy. if it is wrong, i will be consumed by guilt anyway so I won’t be happy in the end.

Published by: mizrae

I am not always nice, but I can be. I like reading more than writing, and I wish I write better than I do. I hope that I listen more than I speak because honestly, that's the kind of people I am drawn to.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

